Hotel Indigo St.Petersburg-Tchaikovskogo is located in the center of St.Petersburg:
Located amongst the stunning architecture and historical prestige of Russia’s capital of culture, our hotel is in the heart of the historic centre between the Neva and Fontanka rivers, the Summer Garden and Tavricheskiy Garden, just few steps from Liteiny bridge – an ideal spot for guests wanting to explore the city. The main street of Nevskiy Prospect is just ten minutes away.
Liteiny Prospect (the Foundry prospect)
Found its home in the original 7-storey Neo-Classical mansion decorated with unique caryatides and atlantes the hotel is considered to be one of the pearls in the historic mansion necklace of the street named Sergiyevskaya Street. Later this street was renamed after the world famous Russian composer Pyotr Tchaikovsky who lived here in 1850’s in the building 41.
Every neighborhood has a story. And the hotel neighborhood story goes back to the times before the foundation of Saint-Petersburg by Peter the First. Ancient maps reveal that even before the city was founded, there was a crossing on the rout from Russia to Sweden approximately at the location of the modern Liteiny bridge.
The name of the bridge literally means ‘foundry’. It is named after one of the oldest prospects in the city, Liteiny Prospect (the Foundry prospect). This in turn was named after big foundry courtyard established by Peter the First in 1711 to cast guns and cannons for Russian army. Later in 1808 close to the foundry courtyard the New Arsenal building was constructed. From the windows of the hotel looking out on the street you can still see the main façade of this historic edifice.
Another interesting building that can be seen from the top floor of the hotel is a building known as the “big house». It replaced the Sergievskay Church destroyed in 1930’s during the Soviet period. It was occupied by Committee for State Security (KGB). Nowadays the “big house” is the headquarter of the Russian Federal Security Service. Ironically this building is not far from the gorgeous 19th century Neo-Moresque mansion, a home of the world-known poet Joseph Brodsky who was forced by KGB and Soviet Government to leave the country.
Not much is left in Saint-Petersburg from the era of Peter the First, but as one of our neighbours we are proud to have the Summer Garden, a location where you can still feel the atmosphere of Peter’s time. The park was personally designed by Czar Peter in 1704 with the assistance of the Dutch gardener and physician Nicolaas Bidloo. The Summer Garden was largely completed in 1719. The walks were lined with a hundred allegorical marble sculptures, executed by Venetian sculptors. The garden with a collection of sculptures and the Summer Palace (the first Emperor’s residence) constitute a single museum complex. In the late 20th century, the 90 surviving statues were moved indoors, while modern replicas took their place in the park. The Summer Palace is the witness of the whole Peter’s life. This building is a little changed since it’s construction.
Harking back to the time of the Czars and referencing the masterpieces composed by Tchaikovsky the hotel interiors have a distinctly neighbourhood flavor, energy and charm.
The hotel guestrooms interiors were inspired by stories of the foundry, Summer Garden, the neighboring river embankment and the music of Tchaikovsky. Well-appointed, cozy guestrooms feature floor-to-ceiling murals with abstract images of metal pouring into moulds or silhouettes of the statuary, trees the embankment ornate railings. A design theme of the hotel suites is scenery from the operas and ballets by Tchaikovsky, and the guest corridor ceilings feature images of dancing ballerinas which remind us about the powerful music and flowing melodies created by this composer. To reinforce the local atmosphere and experience the public spaces of the hotel derive their architectural character from the palaces and mansion that line the city’s streets and embankments.
The History of the Building
The construction was started in 1861-1863, 1908-1914
It was finished in 1914.
Architects – Vinogradov P.A., Yastrzemsky V.S.